Nick Ashford: So talented, so loved, and blessed with a sound that was so unique.

Last Thursday while putting together a photo spread for Maryland Public Television on what I have been doing since 9/11/01 , I came across a photo of Nick Ashford and me standing on the corner of Broadway and 53rd Street (?) in 2003 talking. I stopped for a moment and reflectd on how happy he was to see me, and I him. He and my uncle (Al Sanders /Monday Night Football, Manager of “The Moonglows) were friends, and once lived in the same apartment building in New York City.  I was introduced to him by my uncle when I was nineteen years old  (1968) and in New York for a concert at Carnegie Hall with Duke Ellington and his orchestra.  

Over the years that followed,  there was no greater model for me as a singer, lyricist, collaborator and “soulmate” than Nick Ashford. My prayers go out for Valerie and their family.

Leave a Reply

